Skip to content ↓

Carlton le Willows Academy

Nothing but the best

CLW Poet Laureates

Meet the new Poet Laureates for Carlton le Willows Academy.

Creative writers Tommy Lorimer and Theo Moynihan-Case have been appointed as the Academy’s poetic scribes after winning a school poetry competition to mark National Poetry Day 2018.

The boys, both in Year 7, will now use their talents to produce poems for special occasions or events within school, with their first task to come up with a poem in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the end of the First World War.

Both boys will receive a voucher from Mr Tenniswood at the end of each term as a reward for taking up the role.

The British Poet Laureate is an honorary position, appointed by the Queen on the advice of the Prime Minister - a role currently held by Carol Ann Duffy.